The legal age of consent varies from 14 to 18, depending on the state
By Wendy Koch
More states are bucking the national crackdown on sex offenders by paring back punishment for teens who have consensual sex with underage partners.
Governors in seven states have signed bills in the past two months that mean no prosecution for some teens or no requirement to register as a sex offender.
States vary widely in how they prosecute consensual teen sex, which prosecutors refer to as "Romeo and Juliet" cases, but some remain tough on teens who are several years older than their partners. The legal age of consent varies from 14 to 18, depending on the state.
WHO IS A PEDOPHILE?: Pedophilia vs. 'playing doctor'
The issue has stirred debate recently through the Georgia case of Genarlow Wilson, 21, who is serving a 10-year sentence for receiving oral sex from a 15-year-old girl at a New Year's party when he was 17. The Georgia Supreme Court heard arguments Friday on whether to release him.
See Complete Article: States ease laws that punish teens for sex with minors